Climate Solutions Caucus

Consult only for reference purposes.


Climate Solutions Caucus Laser Talk

Question:  What is the Climate Solutions Caucus?

Answer:  Lawmakers sometimes form ‘caucuses’ to work across party lines on specific issues. In February of 2016, two Florida Congressmen formed the House Climate Solutions Caucus, [1] and in October of 2019, Senators from Delaware and Indiana launched the Senate Climate Solutions Caucus. [2] Both are comprised of Democrats and Republicans working together to study, develop, and introduce legislative solutions to the challenge of climate change. [3]

The House Climate Solutions Caucus has endured through two election cycles in 2016 and 2018,  reaching a high of 90 members drawn equally from each party. In the 2018 mid-term election, 27 members either retired or lost their seats, but the Caucus was rebuilt in June 2019 under the leadership of founding member Ted Deutch, [4] a Florida Democrat, and a new co-chair, Florida Republican Francis Rooney. [5] The Caucus currently has 62 members drawn from both parties. Although Caucus members are not required to support a carbon fee and dividend plan, 20 Caucus members are currently among the 80 sponsors of H.R.763, the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act of 2019. [6]

The Senate Climate Solutions Caucus was the outcome of hard work by Delaware Democrat Chris Coons [7], an original sponsor of the Senate version of the Energy Innovation Act in 2018. Senator Coons teamed up with Republican Senator Mike Braun of Indiana [8] to form a bipartisan Caucus, which now has 14 members including seven Republicans, six Democrats, and one Independent. [9]

We honor the commitment of these legislators to the mission of depoliticizing our changing climate, and applaud their efforts to serve as a catalyst for sensible, effective, and fair bipartisan climate legislation.

  1. Yerman, M. “Interview with Representative Carlos Curbelo: Republican Half of the Bipartisan Climate Solutions Caucus.” Moms Clean Air Force (11 Feb 2016).
  2. Coons, C. and M. Braun. “Bipartisan solutions to address the climate challenge.” The Hill (23 Oct 2019).
  3. “Climate Solutions Caucus.” Citizens’ Climate Lobby (accessed 3 Jan 2020).
  4. “Ted Deutch.” Ballotpedia (accessed 3 Jan 2020).
  5. “Francis Rooney.” Ballotpedia (accessed 3 Jan 2020).
  6. “H.R.763 – Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act of 2019.” (24 Jan 2019).
  7. “Chris Coons.” Ballotpedia (accessed 3 Jan 2020).
  8. “Mike Braun.” Ballotpedia (accessed 3 Jan 2020).
  9. Lewis, M. “Bipartisan Senate Climate Solutions Caucus grows to 8 members.” Electrek (8 Nov 2019).

This page was updated on 02/22/20 at 20:08 CST.