State, County and City Resolutions

Through the work of CCL volunteers, cities and counties from around the country have approved official resolutions at the state and city level in support of Carbon Fee and Dividend or climate action. Local governments are calling on Congress to address climate change because climate change won’t be solved through local action alone.

State Resolutions calling for Carbon Fee and Dividend (or equivalent)

StatePopulationMembers of Congress

Municipal Resolutions calling for Carbon Fee and Dividend (or equivalent)

MunicipalityPopulationDistrict and member(s) of Congress
Philadelphia, PA1.5 millionRobert Brady (D-PA-01), Chaka Fattah (D-PA-02), Brendan Boyle (D-PA-13)
San Francisco, CA837,000Nancy Pelosi (D-CA-12)
County of Essex, NJ789,565Donald Payne Jr. (D-NJ-10), Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ-11)
Portland, OR609,456Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR-01) and Earl Blumenauer (D-OR-03)
Pittsburgh, PA305,841Mike Doyle (D-PA-14)
Dona Ana County, NM213,460Steve Pearce (R-NM-02)
Rochester, NY210,358Louise Slaughter (D-NY-25)
Modesto, CA204,000Jeff Denham (R-CA-10)
Salt Lake City, UT191,000Chris Stewart (R-UT-02)
Santa Fe County, NM147,423Ben R. Luján (D-NM-03)
Berkeley, CA116,768Barbara Lee (D-CA-13)
Richmond, CA107,000Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA-11)
Tompkins County, NY103,617Tom Reed (R-NY-23)
Santa Monica, CA92,472Ted Lieu (D-CA-33)
Bloomington, IN82,575Trey Hollingsworth (R-IN-09)
Fayetteville, AR79,000Steve Womack (R-AR-03)
Santa Fe, NM70,000Ben R. Luján (D-NM-03)
Encinitas, CA61,588Darrell Issa (R-CA-49)
Lancaster, PA59,325Joseph Pitts (R-PA-16)
Oak Park, IL52,066Danny Davis (D-IL-07)
San Luis Obispo, CA46,377Lois Capps (D-CA-24)
Montclair, NJ38,977Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ-10), Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ-11)
Ithaca, NY30,515Tom Reed (R-NY-23)
Los Altos, CA30,010Anna Eshoo (D-CA-18)
Carbondale, CO26,363Scott R. Tipton (R-CO-03)
El Cerrito, CA24,316Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA-11)
Millburn, NJ20,130Leonard Lance (R-NJ-07)
Albany, CA19,192Barbara Lee (RD-CA-13)
Boone, NC18,211Virginia Foxx (R-NC-05)
Pitkin County, CO17,379Scott R. Tipton (R-CO-03)
Morro Bay, CA10,461Lois Capps (D-CA-24)
Del Mar4,278Darrell Issa (R-CA-49)
Danby, NY3,329Tom Reed (R-NY-23)
Eureka Springs, AR2,095Steve Womack (R-AR-03)
Grand Marais, MN Public Utility Commission and City Council1,351Richard Nolan (D-MN-08)
Ridgway, CO953Scott Tipton (R-CO-03)

Municipal Resolutions calling for Action on Climate

MunicipalityPopulationDistricts and member(s) of Congress
Syracuse, NY144,669John Katco (R-NY-24)
Las Cruces, NM101,324Steve Pearce (R-NM-02)
Corvallis, OR57,390Peter DeFazio (D-OR-04), Kurt Schrader (D-OR-05)
East Lansing, MI48,544Mike Bishop (R-MI-08)
Bainbridge Island, WA23,196Derek Kilmer (D-WA-06)
Livingston, NY3,646Chris Gibson (R-NY-19)
Stockport, NY2,815Chris Gibson (R-NY-19)
Village of Cooperstown, NY1,834Chris Gibson (R-NY-19)
Chatham, NY1,731Chris Gibson (R-NY-19)
Ancram, NY1,573Chris Gibson (R-NY-19)
Taghkanic, NY1,310Chris Gibson (R-NY-19)